To delete one of the room walls, you need to tap on it first.
Then use the Hide button. That way, the wall will no longer be visible on your plan. But if you want to get it back, use the same algorithm: pick the wall and click Unhide icon.
Or you can also delete the wall by selecting it and hitting backspace. The wall will be deleted.